reverb revisited: Community

In an impressive show of procrastination, I seem to be packing a lot of awesome into the tail end of 2010. Only eight days into this final month of the year and so far it has been pretty great. The reflection, gratitude, planning and forward thinkingness that has been coursing through my veins the last week or so is largely due to the reverb10 project. I’m not sure I’d be thinking as deliberately about my year, or perhaps more importantly, looking toward the next if I weren’t getting daily prompts to do so.

Yesterday’s topic of community is worth revisiting after spending part of today viewing a satellite broadcast of some of the presentations at the Institute of Healthcare Improvement’s National Forum. The IHI is made up of some rock stars from the health care community and this is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to participate in the forum. Even watching from a conference room across the country, what I saw and heard today energized me about my work in a way that makes me know with certainty that, at least professionally, I am absolutely doing what I was meant to do with my life.

The part of yesterday’s prompt that I ignored in my initial response resonated with me today:

What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

For me, the answer to that lies in a quote that was included in one of the presentations I saw today.

“There is no power for change greater than a community discovering what it cares about.” – Meg Wheatley

I feel lucky to have discovered in my first job, nearly 16 years ago, that this is a community I care about. Luckier still that I care as much or more today.

Leave a Reply

