reverb10: 17

Prompt: Lesson learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year? And how will you apply that lesson going forward?

I have got some reverbage to catch up on today! I’m three posts behind, and that offends my obsessive compulsive, must-get-it-done-NOW sensibilities greatly. Yeah, I’ve been busy the last few days – drinking, music, babysitting, etc. (no, not all together) – but also, the prompts haven’t been grabbing me. Some feel repetitive, some too nebulous to really know how to get a hold of, and some mean that if I want to be honest in my response, I have to probably talk about stuff that I’d rather not.

That said, after letting it roll around for a couple days, I’ve got at least a passable response to this one. I thought I’d send you back over there in case you need a refresher about what this whole mess is all about.

The best thing I learned about myself this last year is how very much I enjoy saying, “Yes.” Frankly, it may be the only thing I truly *learned* about myself this year. The rest has really been more of a cease fire – stopping the fight against the elements of my true nature that are here to stay. There’s been some facing of hard truths and also some embracing of the stuff about myself that I dig a whole bunch. But as far as honest-to-God learning goes, it’s this “Yes” part that was a nice surprise.

It is not a secret that I am often pretty set in my ways and loathe to break from routine. I like my routine quite nicely – much of it has served me well for a long time. For some reason though, likely connected to shedding some crap that made room for not-crap, I can look back on this last year and see that I’ve picked up a fair amount of newness along the way.

This is all inextricably linked to a final, necessary door closing – had to keep busy to keep from going back. And in keeping busy, friendships (like with the two lovelies below) that had previously been of a more tangential nature cemented themselves for life.

a coupla the gulls

It’s all pretty simple really, but rather than think of a reason why I couldn’t do something when someone asked, more often than not, I went for it. As a result, I’ve seen a lot of spectacular live music, spent time with some adorable kiddos, done a fair amount of sporty-type activities and had a fun, brief, reboundy relationship. Again, none of it earth shattering or revolutionary, but all of it the result of saying, “Sure, why not?”

Lest the point has gotten lost, here it is:

As much as I am a creature of habit, Slanket, couch and sometimes inertia, I have learned that saying “yes” isn’t nearly as scary as it used to be.

Leave a Reply

