reverb10: 25

Prompt: Photo – a present to yourself. Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

Normally, I’d cheat on something like this. I’d have an impossible time choosing and end up posting 3 or 4 pictures because how could I possibly be expected to choose trivia over bingo over poker? Or Molly over Caitlin over Kelsi? And while there are certainly a few pictures from the past year that do a pretty decent job of summing me up, I think my very favorite is actually one I took myself, just yesterday.

I was out cross-country skiing with my dad for the last time that trip and was waiting for a minute for him to catch up. We were near the end of a ten mile trek and it had just been the best day. Perfect snow, solitude and a ton of hard work – it was great.

I like this picture because I didn’t make it harder than it needed to be. If I take pictures of myself, it usually takes a couple of tries to get it right. This was a one and done kind of deal – I knew Dad was coming up behind me and I just wanted to capture the moment of accomplishment and be done with it. I think/hope that shows. There’s no self-aware chin tilt and I sort of have a weird not-quite-smile on my face. Also, I really love that the shit eye is in full, unapologetic effect.

Leave a Reply

