reverb10: 27

Prompt: Ordinary joy. Our most profound joy is often experienced during ordinary moments. What was one of your most joyful ordinary moments this year?

Piece of cake. I’m sure I could (and will be) heartily mocked for this, but nothing – and I do mean *nothing* – gives me such consistent, instantaneous, drop-whatever-I’m-doing-to-stare joy as seeing a golden retriever does. Every. Single. Time. I measure a good run not by pace achieved or miles covered, but by the number of goldens I see while running. The original, inimitable, still-owner of a huge piece of my heart even though I haven’t seen him in nearly four years is singularly responsible for this affinity.

Grady Little's Big Mistake

But it’s not just him. It’s ALL of them. Like my Aunt Ann’s pup, Max.

A friend’s parents’ dog, Kenzie.

And strangers’ dogs at the 4th of July pet parade in Bend.

Baby ones are extra cute!

I love them so much.

Leave a Reply

