I Choo-Choo-Choose You

The Daily Post’s Topic #28: If stranded on a desert island, and could only bring one music album with you, which would it be? What is it about this music that never gets old for you?

This makes my heart hurt and my head feel like it might ‘splode. Given all the up close and personal time I spend with my music (headphones are in my ears more often than not), the thought of one album from now until forever gives me the saddies. I just spent several minutes poring over mypod, scrolling forward and back, backward and fore, feeling like I was being asked to choose which of my children to save from a burning building. Typhoon is the band currently giving me eargasms on a near daily basis and Frightened Rabbit has been my absolute, hands down, I want to marry them and have ten thousand of their babies band for going on two years now. I could probably listen to an album from either of those bands forever and be just fine. However, during all the ipod scrolling, I kept going back to one band and one album in particular.

I love this album, but it’s not my favorite, nor is it one that I listen to all the time. I have definite Wilco phases periodically, but they’re not always heavy in the rotation. I think the reason I could have this be my forever music is that it’s one of those albums that is just perfect in the background. It works to sing along to and also to just have on when you need something other than your own thoughts to listen to. It’s an album that I associate with some good people and some good times in my life. It was regular poker music back with the original Hold ‘Em crew during the Ladd’s Addition days and it makes me happy to remember that when I hear it. Also, “Jesus, Etc.” is probably one of the most gorgeous songs I’ve ever heard and I have been known to listen to it no less (and sometimes more) than five times in a row.

So yes, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Forever. Until I start obsessing about and second guessing this decision the minute I hit “Publish.”

4 thoughts on “I Choo-Choo-Choose You

  1. This might be my answer to this question too; though, as you said, it’s kind of unanswerable. I don’t think there’s any other album where I think every song is my favorite the second it begins.

  2. I listened to YHF on my way into work this morning and was struck yet again by its awesomeness. I sort of love that there are things about it that I *don’t* love, yet it still manages to flow so seamlessly and be just… pleasing.

  3. As I was reading this I decided to listen to YHF and experience your love for it. As turned on my iPod the first cover that displayed was Wilco. This was before I even chose Artist. Crazy!

  4. Pingback: March Miscellany « Coming Up Lemon

Leave a Reply

