Weekly Photo Challenge: Tiny

I didn’t even bother looking at the photo attached to this prompt. Tiny means one thing and one thing only to me – my youngest and tiniest Robinson cousin, Rachel.

Me and Tiny in Grandma and Grandpa's backyard, summer 1999

Tiny is, of course, less tiny now.

Tiny with a big appetite, 4th of July, 2010

In the last few years I have been fortunate enough to spend a fair amount of time with Tiny and her two sisters. Those three girls are pretty much my favorites. All the fun cousin-friend time makes me wish that there had been more of that in my childhood, but more than that I’m just happy to have them in my life now. Though there’s a sizable age difference between us, they have managed to zero in on my inner 19-year-old and we split the difference quite well when we’re together. I’m not sure what this says about my maturity level, but I’m infinitely grateful that they find me cool enough to associate with.

But back to Tiny. Part of her charm lies in her ability to take the incessant (yet mostly good natured) mocking from her family with the practiced good humor of a true youngest child. She does it so well in fact that sometimes I forget she’s actually pretty much an adult already. All this to say that when I got her high school graduation announcement in the mail yesterday, it sort of took me by surprise. How can the little creature in that picture up there possibly be graduating from high school? It’s enough to make a cousin feel her 19 (plus a few) years acutely.

Congratulations Tiny! I can’t wait to see you take the big, wide world by storm.

Leave a Reply

