Dear Avery

Reverb’s July writing prompt: What new thing will you try this month?

This month – yesterday, to be precise – marks the beginning of trying something new that I have never done before. It involves actually *being* something that I have never been before, but now will be for the rest of my life. I am going to try my hand at being an aunt.

She’s here! She’s really really really, FINALLY here. Remember how excited I was way back when? Yeah, as overjoyed as I was then, it doesn’t begin to compare to how I feel right now – heart-burstingly, jumping-up-and-down, ridiculously giddy.

It's not considered kidnapping if we're related, right?

Avery Elaine Robinson decided it was time to come hang out with the world a full four weeks ahead of her due date, at 5:44 a.m. on July 2, 2011.

I saw the missed calls, voicemail and text messages from my mom and Jeff when I woke up yesterday morning, and for the rest of the day (following about 30 full seconds of screaming “What? What?! WHAT?!” over and over into my apartment and then calling my mom to scream some more), I was pretty much in a constant state of tears, grinning like an idiot and pacing in laps around my apartment. I think I actually asked my mom, “How on earth am I supposed to go about my day? Do I still have to clean my bathroom?”

How do I stay here when – since exactly 7:59 yesterday morning – 90% of me feels like it’s already in Sacramento? I am hyperbolic to my core, but I swear to God, it has truly taking everything in me to not throw some shit in a bag and head to the airport.

Since yesterday, I have simmered down the tiniest bit. The stretches between bursts of happy tears are now 30-60 minutes, as opposed to yesterday’s ten. However, now that she is here, I have to be *there* as soon as possible. The original, loosely planned Labor Day Weekend visit just won’t do now that the babe has arrived fashionably early. I’ve got a trip 17 days from now saved online, waiting to pull the trigger until I get the okay from Brother.

I am so proud of my sister-in-law, cannot believe that my little brother is a dad and now have the most perfect, beautiful niece in the history of nieces. Christie, Jeff and Avery – I love you three so much. And Avery, just you wait, kiddo; we are going to have so much fun together. Love, Aunt Jenny.

3 thoughts on “Dear Avery

  1. This filled my heart with such joy. For the first time in my life, I’m a little sad that, in all likelihood, I will never be an aunty. Because it sounds like the best thing ever.

  2. I have to say – admittedly with only 51.5 hours of experience under my belt – that it is pretty much the best thing ever. Before Avery though, I felt nearly this same auntly love for a couple of my friends’ kids. Almost-aunts are very important too. 🙂

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go stare at some pictures of my niece some more…

  3. Pingback: Osama and Avery « Coming Up Lemon

Leave a Reply

