Osama and Avery

Today is Pearl Harbor remembrance day in the US.
December 7, 1941; November 22, 1963; March 30, 1981; January 28, 1986; December 21, 1988; February 26, 1993; April 19, 1995; January 22, 2001; September 11, 2001: There are many dates that people remember, for various reasons. What is one “I’ll always remember where I was when ____” story that comes immediately to mind, that happened this past year? (Note: one of those dates was my 21st birthday. They don’t all have to be horrific events)

May 1, 2011 and July 2, 2011. Two dates that were two short months and a world apart. They could not possibly have less in common, aside from the fact that they are the two dates that contain my, “I’ll always remember where I was when…” stories from this year.

On Sunday, May 1, I was messing around online. I think I may have just finished an evening run and was looking to see what was new on Facebook in the 45 minutes I’d been away from it. How did I hear that Osama bin Laden had been killed? The evening DJ on the radio station I listen to had posted about it on the station’s Facebook page. I immediately turned on the television and watched – like most people did that night – for hours. The thing I remember feeling the most clearly that night was this sense of a clock ticking down to the inevitable moment of division that was coming. For a few short hours we were a country united in simply taking the information in. Eventually it would become an event that would be used (as seemingly every goddamn thing is these days) to dig the trenches between us even deeper.

On Saturday, July 2, I woke up and found out that my niece had been born in the early morning hours. This is what that day was like. It was the best. Also the best are all the moments I’ve gotten to spend with Avery since she was born. I think maybe there’s no need to ever tell her that I wrote about her and Osama bin Laden in the same post.

Leave a Reply

