reverb10: 28

Prompt: Achieve. What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today.

Meh. All due respect, but a lot of these are starting to feel like the same business repackaged and dished back out a few days later. I think I’ve covered this more or less a few different times. Inspired by the very beginning of this hilarious post from my pal Erin, I thought about making some shit up about how I’m going to go about finding true love and how blissfully, completely, songbirds-chirpingly, fade to black, happily ever after joyful it will make me. But then I threw up a little, both inside and outside of my mouth, and I decided against it.

The thing I’m the most hopeful and also the most nervous about achieving in the near future is getting a paper that I’ve co-written accepted for publication. A coworker and I, along with our respective bosses, have spent the last year and a half working on a paper that details Legacy Health’s successes in reducing mortality and infection rates across the system. We submitted it to a journal over the summer, got rejected (waaaay more disappointing than I expected it to be) and are just now getting ready to submit to a different journal at the beginning of January. I am super anxious about getting it all right this time and hopefully being accepted. If not, we’ll regroup and try again, but it would be so fantastic to be published. So, yeah. Maybe not super thrilling, but that’s what I think of when I think about what I want to achieve in the next year. That and, y’know, land a man who will make all my dreams come true or whatever.

2 thoughts on “reverb10: 28

  1. never EVER use or say or breathe or THINK the word “bliss” around me. some people have serious problems hearing the word “moist” and that is what “bliss” is to me. horrible, ugly, grody ass word. my boobs went concave into my chest upon seeing that. i grew a tiny penis which promptly shriveled up and fell off all in the span of that one word.

  2. Pingback: reverb10:28 – achieve « employablemeeee

Leave a comment